Monday, May 11, 2009

The 65th Annual Theatre World Award Winners!

The Theatre World Award is presented to those making an auspicious debut or breakthrough performance in the NY theatre, whether it be off-Broadway or on. The event is held every spring and is hosted by Peter Filichia. Past winners perform (occasionally songs from the shows for which they won) and present. The awards will be held on June 2nd at the Samuel J. Friedman Theatre. As I've said in the past, I appreciate this awards ceremony more than the Tonys because the spirit is a genuine celebration of theatre and community, minus the competition.

Congratulations to the winners!!

David Alvarez/Trent Kowalik/Kiril Kulish, Billy Elliot, The Musical
Chad L. Coleman, Joe Turner's Come and Gone
Jennifer Grace, Our Town
Josh Grisetti, Enter Laughing, The Musical
Haydn Gwynne, Billy Elliot, The Musical
Colin Hanks, 33 Variations
Marin Ireland, Reasons To be Pretty
Susan Louise O'Connor, Blithe Spirit
Condola Rashad, Ruined
Geoffrey Rush, Exit the King
Josefina Scaglione, West Side Story
Wesley Taylor, Rock of Ages

Special Award to the entire cast of The Norman Conquests: Amelia Bullmore, Jessica Hynes, Stephen Mangan, Ben Miles, Paul Ritter and Amanda Root

No comments: